Posted in .

ADL’s Coalition for Mutual Respect Calls for Safety and Well-Being of Unaccompanied Minors Fleeing Violence in Central America

  • August 27, 2014



Contact:  Dena Marks  713-627-3490, ext. 234
Cell: 832-567-8843

(Houston, August 27, 2014) The Anti-Defamation League’s (ADL’s) Coalition for Mutual Respect, a group of religious, business and community leaders who come together to learn together, promote understanding, and speak out about issues that concern them, are calling for Houstonians to help unaccompanied minors crossing U.S. borders to find refuge and safety here.   Coalition members today released the statement below:

The Anti-Defamation League’s Coalition for Mutual Respect represents greater Houston’s diverse faith communities and is committed to promoting positive and harmonious interfaith and intergroup relations in our city.  With one voice, we call on Houstonians of all faiths and all peoples of good will to come together to provide for the safety and well-being of unaccompanied minors  — children – who come to our southern border fleeing gang and drug cartel related violence, rape, exploitation, and even death in Central America.  We also call on Houstonians of all faiths and all peoples of good will to categorically reject the dehumanization and demonization of these children by extremists in the anti-immigrant movement as well as the use of incendiary rhetoric by some mainstream politicians and public figures.


In finding solutions for the humanitarian crisis at the U.S. border, protecting the safety of these children must be a priority.  We are a nation of immigrants, and as such, we urge our community to practice civility in our conversations and show compassion for the children.

ADL’s Coalition for Mutual Respect was founded in 1995 so interfaith and community leaders could speak with a common voice on important community issues. The Coalition’s goal is to promote harmonious interfaith and inter-group relations in our city through dialogue and action.


ADL’s Coalition for Mutual Respect Board Members include:  Rev. Jim Bankston, Ghulam Bombaywala, Fr. Brendan Cahill, Pastor Kirbyjon Caldwell, Michael Chou, Pastor Harvey Clemons, Rev. Mike Cole, Martin Cominsky, Bishop Andy Doyle, Judith Finkel, Archbishop Joseph Fiorenza, Rev. Troy Gately, Rabbi Sam Karff, Mark Kaufman, Dr. Basheer Khumawala, Dr. Stephen Klineberg, Rev. Bill Lawson, Sr. Jane Meyer, Pastor Steve Quill,  Macey Reasoner, Bishop Mike Rinehart, Dr. Joe Ratliff, Regina Rogers, Rabbi David Rosen, Michael Solar, Jack Sweeney, Mustafa Tameez, Michael Trevino,  and Dr. Susan Wittjen.


For more information or to set up an interview, call Dena Marks at 832-567-8843.